Inductees selected for Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame

The 2023 induction class for the Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame has been unveiled.

Nevyle CableJim HambyHarry Leonard and Ted McGuire will make up the 2023 class and officially be inducted on Dec. 7 at the Oklahoma History Center in Oklahoma City.

• Nevyle Cable is the longtime president and CEO of First National Bank and Trust Co., in Okmulgee. He retired in late 2017 after 27 years at the helm of the institution.

• Jim Hamby led Vision Bank, in Ada, as its president and CEO since 1990. Hamby retired in 2020 after a total of 37 years at the bank.

• The late Harry Leonard was a longtime staple of the Muskogee banking scene. He served as the president of the First National Bank of Muskogee and also as a former state banking commissioner. Leonard passed away in 2019.

• Ted McGuire spent 25 years with RCB Bank as part of his 43 years total in the banking industry. McGuire retired in 2008 as president and CEO of the bank.

All of this year’s inductees were selected under a new format. After discussion with leadership at the Oklahoma Hall of Fame about its processes, and learning about other methods from other organizations, the induction procedure for this year’s group for the Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame was updated from previous years.

After all nominations were received by OBA President and CEO Adrian Beverage, he forwarded those to OBA Chair Bryan Cain. Cain then convened a committee of 10 individuals earlier this week to select the inductees. These 10 individuals were up of the OBA’s Executive Committee, who joined bankers selected by Cain from each of the OBA’s six geographical groups.

The specific committee members were completely anonymous to everyone outside of themselves and the current OBA chair.

Congratulations to Cable, Hamby, Leonard and McGuire! You’ll be hearing more about those four outstanding individuals in the coming weeks!