Tuesday, June 18, 2024

OBA installs Sovereign Bank COO as chair; honors others at annual convention

OKLAHOMA CITY — Alicia Wade, chief operating officer of Sovereign Bank, in Shawnee, was inducted as chair of the Oklahoma Bankers Association at the OBA’s 127th Convention on May 15 at the Skirvin Hilton in Oklahoma City.

Wade joined Sovereign Bank earlier this year, and has been a part of the banking industry for 27 years. She also serves on the American Bankers Association Membership Council and Community Bank Council. She also is part of the board of The Friends of Traditional Banking and The Bankers Bank. She is the founder and chairman of the Central Region Fiserv Premier User Group.

Wade replace Bryan Cain as OBA chair. Cain, who will move into the immediate past chair spot on the OBA Executive Committee, is president and CEO of Sovereign Bank.

Priscilla Cude, president and CEO of First Bethany Bank & Trust, in Bethany, was elected as first vice chair of the association. She will move into the vice chair’s seat (currently occupied by Steve Bagwell, of Vision Bank, in Ada) next year and into the chair’s spot in 2026.

In other convention business, the OBA membership elected bankers to six seats on the association’s board of directors. The new directors, who will serve three-year board terms, are:

  • Brian Mooney, Washita State Bank, Burns Flat.
  • Loren Parham, First State Bank, Watonga.
  • Julie Stovall, American Exchange Bank, Okemah.
  • Dustin Riddle, Oklahoma Heritage Bank, Stratford.
  • Troy Appling, The Bankers Bank, Oklahoma City
  • Michael Oonk, American Bank and Trust Co., Tulsa

Nine board directors who completed their terms were recognized for their years of service. Honored were:

  • Amada Alvidrez, Equity Bank, Guymon.
  • Keith Mansfield, First National Bank in Marlow.
  • Rigo Aranda, Oklahoma State Bank, Buffalo.
  • Andrew Wells, First State Bank, Tahlequah.
  • Debbie Ward, Farmers State Bank, Allen.
  • Priscilla Cude, First Bethany Bank & Trust, Bethany.
  • Frank “Frazier” Henke IV, American Bank and Trust Co., Tulsa.
  • Bert Davison, First United Bank, Durant.
  • Ryan Quidley, Armstrong Bank, Muskogee.

The OBA also honored banks and bankers who have committed their time and effort to the state’s banking industry during the Chair’s Brunch held at the convention. Those recognized are listed below.


Seven longtime bankers were inducted into the OBA’s 50-Year-Club. These individuals have devoted 50 years or more of their lives to their banking careers. Inductees were:

School Board Chairs

Five bankers were honored for their service as chairpersons of various OBA school boards. Honored were:

  • Kendra Barnes, Arvest Bank, Oklahoma City – Basic Banking & Intermediate Schools;
  • Jeff DeSpain, BancFirst, Moore — Commercial Lending School;
  • James Boggs, Sovereign Bank, Shawnee — Consumer Lending School;
  • Kathryn Ivey, Shamrock Bank, Coalgate — Compliance School;
  • David Vinall, BancFirst, Lawton — Operations School.

Committee Chairs

Four bankers were honored for their service as chairpersons of the committees and boards that drive the OBA’s programs. These individuals have devoted considerable time and effort to ensure a quality trade association. Honored were:

  • Mason Bolay, First Bank & Trust Co., Perry – Agriculture Committee.
  • Alicia Wade, Sovereign Bank, Shawnee – Government Relations Council.
  • Leigh-Anne Taylor, NBC Oklahoma, Oklahoma City — Women In Banking Committee.
  • Beth Wright, Shamrock Bank, Coalgate — Emerging Leaders Council