Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Nominations open for OBA Board, first vice chair

Pursuant to Section 5.4 of the bylaws of the Oklahoma Bankers Association, this will serve as official notice of the process of selecting members of the board of directors of the Association.

There are six board nominating committees, each of which will select a banker to replace the board member whose term on the OBA’s board will expire at the OBA Convention in May.

As you may recall, board members are elected from each of the OBA’s six geographic regions or groups. There are three board members from each of these six groups, each of which is an active officer of a member bank and serves a staggered three-year term.

One director must be from a bank with deposits in the top one-third of banks in each group.
One director must be from a bank in the middle one-third of bank deposits within each group.
One director must be from a bank in the bottom one-third of deposits within each group.

This year, the six retiring directors represent a bank with Oklahoma deposits in the middle one-third of banks in each group.

Each of the six board nominating committees is chaired by the director whose term will expire at the May convention. The other two board members from that group make up the balance of each of the six OBA groups.

Any active officer of an OBA-member bank representing a bank with deposits in the middle one-third of the deposits in each of these six groups is eligible to serve on the board of directors of the OBA. If you or someone else you know is interested in serving in this capacity, please get in touch with any member of the committee in your bank’s OBA Group and let them know of your interest. You can also call Adrian Beverage at the OBA at (405) 424-5252. The deadline for submitting your name is March 31, 2022.

Eligible banks: Banks with Oklahoma deposits in the middle one-third of the banks in each OBA group:

Group 1
Nominating Committee
Chair – Matt Jackson, Bank of the West, Thomas, (580) 661-3541
Keith Mansfield – First National Bank, Marlow, (580) 658-5457
Sandy Werner – First National Bank, Elk City, (580) 225-2580

Eligible Banks
First National Bank in Marlow, Marlow
Southwest Bank of Weatherford, Weatherford
First Bank, Erick
First State Bank, Anadarko
Community Bank of Oklahoma, Verden
Bank of Hydro, Hydro
The Bank of the West, Thomas
Oklahoma Bank & Trust, Clinton
Valor Bank, Edmond
Security State Bank, Cheyenne
Cattlemens Bank, Altus
FSNB NA, Lawton

Group 2
Nominating Committee
Chair – Jay Randels, Community Bank, Alva, (580) 327-5500
Rigo Aranda, Oklahoma State Bank, Buffalo, (580) 735-2545
Andrea Bendele, Exchange Bank, Stillwater, (405) 742-0202

Eligible Banks
First National Bank, Hooker
Cleo State Bank, Cleo Springs
Community State Bank, Hennessey
Bank of Beaver City, Beaver
SNB Bank, N.A., Shattuck
The First State Bank, Boise City
Community Bank, Alva
ACB Bank, Cherokee
Community National Bank, Okarche
Farmers & Merchants, Fairview
First Bank, Okarche
Seiling State Bank, Seiling
High Plains Bank, Okeene
Payne County Bank, Perkins

Group 3
Nominating Committee
Chair – Mike Lyles, FNB Coweta, (918) 486-6561
Andrew Wells, First State Bank, Tahlequah, (918) 456-6108
Billy Taylor, Armstrong Bank, Muskogee, (918) 680-6900

Eligible Banks
FNB Coweta, Coweta
National Bank of Sallisaw, Sallisaw
Bank of Eufaula, Eufaula
Community Bank, Bristow
First National-Stigler, Stigler
Peoples National, Checotah
Carson Community Bank, Stilwell
Bank of Cherokee Co, Hulbert
Bank of Commerce, Chelsea
Bank of Grand Lake, Grove

Group 4
Nominating Committee
Chair – Donald Sherman, McClain Bank, Purcell, (405) 527-6503
Dan Boren, First United Bank, Durant , (405) 246-1700
Debbie Ward, Farmers State Bank, Allen, (580) 857-2402

Eligible Banks
First National Bank, Heavener
The State Bank of Wynnewood, Wynnewood
Security First Natl Bank, Hugo
The Farmers State Bank, Quinton
Idabel National Bank, Idabel
First Texoma National Bank, Durant
Citizens Bank of Ada, Ada
McClain Bank, Purcell
Citizens Bank & Trust, Ardmore
Pauls Valley National Bank, Pauls Valley
Central National Bank, Poteau
Ameristate Bank, Atoka

Group 5
Nominating Committee
Chair – Alicia Wade, Valliance Bank, Oklahoma City, (405) 2868-5700
Priscilla Cude, First Bethany Bank, Bethany, (405) 789-1110
Tony Shinn, Bank of America, Oklahoma City, (405) 740-3821

Eligible Banks
INTRUST Bank, N.A., Oklahoma City
Valliance Bank, Oklahoma City
Frontier State Bank, Oklahoma City
First Liberty Bank, Oklahoma City
FNB Community Bank, Midwest City
F&M Bank, Edmond
Kirkpatrick Bank, Edmond
First National Bank of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City
NBC Oklahoma, Oklahoma City

Group 6
Nominating Committee
Chair – Ted Cundiff, AVB Bank, Broken Arrow, (918) 259-2788
Dawne Stafford, Security Bank, Tulsa, (918) 628-5509
Frazier Henke, American Bank & Trust, Tulsa, (918) 481-3000

Eligible Banks
American Bank of Oklahoma, Collinsville
AVB Bank, Broken Arrow
Grand Bank, Tulsa
First Bank of Owasso, Owasso
SpiritBank, Tulsa


Pursuant to Section 6.3 of the By Laws of the Oklahoma Bankers Association  four current board members serve on the Nominating Committee for the office of first vice chair. The Committee is chaired by the Immediate Past Chair, which in this case is Rick Walker.

Here are the names of the Nominating Committee members:
Chair – Rick Walker, Liberty National Bank, Lawton, (580) 351-2265
Bryan Cain, First National Bank, Shawnee, (405) 275-8830
Carol Fehrle, Quail Creek Bank, Oklahoma City, (405) 755-1000
Sandy Werner – First National Bank, Elk City, (580) 225-2580

Any active officer of a member bank or bank holding company is eligible to serve as an officer in the OBA. If you have, or know anyone who does have, an interest in serving, please get in touch with any of the names listed above to express that interest.

Please do not hesitate to call or email Adrian Beverage with any questions about the selection process. (405) 424-5252