Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Five bankers inducted into Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame as 2019 class

The Oklahoma Bankers Hall of Fame inducted its 2019 class – its second ever – today at the Oklahoma History Center in Oklahoma City. John V. Anderson, with F&M Bank; the late Clark and Wanda Bass, with First National Bank & Trust Co., in McAlester; Oklahoma State Banking Commissioner Mick Thompson; and the late Morrison Tucker, a longtime prominent Oklahoma City-area banker, made up the 2019 inaugural group.

The ceremony was hosted by the Oklahoma Bankers Association’s immediate past chairman, Sandy Werner, who is also CEO of First National Bank & Trust in Elk City. Also, during the event, Michael Hightower, a prominent Oklahoma banking historian and biographer, talked about the importance of Oklahoma bankers and the banking industry to the state.